Dasmariñas City has proven that winning is not in the number of delegates but in the quality of the representatives to totally conquer the national level and banner the flag of the division with flying colors in the recently concluded National Schools Press Conference in Lingayen, Pangasinan on January 28 to February 1.

Dasmarineño Journalists

Jarod Dilla of Dasmariñas II Central School raised the green and yellow banner of Dasmariñas City as he walked through the stage with his coach Glenda Cabutaje winning 1st place in Column Writing and 7th place in Editorial Writing both in Elementary – English category. The same victory was with James Carlos B. Reyes and Llanely Fabello of Sta. Cristina Elementary School for the 2nd place in Sports Writing win.

Furthermore, Dasmarineños pocketed the individual categories in the secondary level as Marksen Viktor Lizarondo of Congressional Integrated High School winning 1st place in Editorial Writing and 2nd place in Column Writing with his coach Mark Bryan Bautista; while Beverly Shane Bautista of Dr. Jose P. Rizal Senior High School, in her fourth NSPC appearance, took the 6th place in Editorial Writing with her coach Allysa Pink Lorraine Bawalan.

Backed with the most rigid training, the Elementary Radiobroadcasting Team of the division finally redeemed the title as they were hailed as the Best Radio Broadcasting Team of the country in the Filipino category with Bernadette Beltran (Humayao ES), Hannah Michaela Perez (DES), Mark David Gabriel (DES), Lessandra Fiona Belenzo (DJPRES), Aaliya Chelsa Cezar (Bautista ES), Gabriel Bade (FEBMS), and Isaac Villena (DIICS) bagging 1st Best Scriopt, 2nd Best Technical Application, and 3rd Best Infomercial.

Beltran also won 2nd Best Anchor and 4th Best News Presenter for the individual awards. These kids were trained by the division’s authority in radio broadcasting Alili Balaso, Eula Eileen Perez, Rona Terre, Janeth Estacio, and coaches Glenda Cabutaje and Nenelette Pascual.

Moreover, in the secondary level, the sole representative of Dasmariñas City in the region’s radio broadcasting team, Dexter Jan Abejar of Francisco Barzaga Integrated High School with his coach Arnold Glenn Bolosan, did not miss the podium as they also won as the country’s Best Radio Broadcasting Team in Filipino with medals as 1st Best Infomercial, 1st Best Technical Application and 2nd Best Script.         

Most Outstanding in the Philippines

Sison Auditorium in Lingayen was filled with cheers and joy from the delegation of CALABARZON as the Dasmariñas City division as well as region’s pride Anthony C. Acedera of Dr. Jose P. Rizal Elementary School was announced as the very first Most Outstanding Elementary School Paper Adviser of the Philippines after a tight competition among the bests of the country.

It was an exciting feat for this year’s NSPC when the award for the most outstanding school paper was turned into a competition of the regions’ representatives. It can be remembered that from the previous installments of NSPC, all representatives sent by each region were awarded in the national level.

“Hindi basehan ang edad para patunayan na kaya mong magtagumpay sa larangan ng campus journalism,” said Acedera in his speech as he humbly accepted the challenge of the prestigious award he received.

Meanwhile, this year’s award for MOSPA has become a competition where the representatives has gone through levels of selection until the final interview of the top seven where the top five would be selected and would be awarded.

Runners-up of Acedera were Annalyn Mangurali of MIMAROPA, Jose Ronnie Alcoriza of Region V, Racell Padilla from Region 1 and Raquel Shagyo of CAR.

The School Publications

This year’s edition of the National Schools Press Conference has brought the program into the other shade of the limelight, when the points from the school publication category was removed from the computation of the overall rankings.

However the changes were, Dasmariñas City’s craft in the school paper making has not falter in the national level bagging awards from the region’s bests Gat Pepe, Forest Blitz, and Mensaherong Paltreño.

Dr. Jose P. Rizal Elementary School’s Gat Pepe was hailed 5th Best School Paper in the elementary category harvesting the 2nd Best News Page and 7th Best Layout and Page Design under the craftsmanship of Acedera. Moreover, Forest Blitz of Pintong Gubat Elementary School won 6th Best Layout and Page Design manned by Joel Zaragoza. In the secondary level, Paliparan National High School’s Mensaherong Paltreño bagged 5th Best News Page under the advisory of Irlo Dumo.

Although points coming from this category were not included in the rankings, CALABARZON has set a benchmark and a loud statement dominating this aspect of campus… …journalism both in the elementary and secondary level with the most number of best school publications.


As CALABARZON’s fire burned the effort of other regions to take over the championship, a bold statement of dominating the race in all the categories of NSPC, may it be individual contests, group contests, elementary level, secondary level, or school paper category, has lit the #lagab7ab spirit of every campus journalist and school paper advisers of the region, not to mention the significant contributions of the City of Dasmariñas headed by the division’s OIC – Schools Division Superintendent Christopher Diaz, Curriculum Implementation Division Chief Gemma Cortez, In-charge of Campus Journalism and English Coordinator Maritess Salasbar, and Filipino Supervisor Fragilyn Rafael in the attainment of the seven consecutive years of CALABARZON’s championship. (Michael Andrew B. Arevalo, Teacher I, Dasmariñas East Integrated High School)